.

Letter to the Editor: Tea Party Not to Blame

Letter writer responds to some claims in an Aug. 15 letter posted on Patch.

Chrisi Vineyard’s letter “Tea Party has Stranglehold on GOP” is inaccurate.  She immediately parrots a quote, verbatim, from Media Matters, (July 12, 2011). Media Matters is an extreme liberal group “dedicated” to “go after” conservatives using quotes out of context and hate speech to demonize and vilify the enemy. To see the Kendall County Democratic Women’s President associated with Media Matters is a discredit to that organization and she should be ashamed. The real facts regarding the S&P downgrade of the USA credit rating is below.

CLAIM:  Ms. Vineyard says the S&P report mentions three times, our “unwillingness to raise revenues was going to make it impossible for us to regain our credit rating”, and says the Tea Party’s “complete unwillingness to compromise and their divisive, obstructionist, and toxic attitude in Washington caused the S&P down grade”.

FACT: The S&P, on record states, “the credit downgrade was inevitable unless there was at least $4 Trillion in cuts in the debt ceiling agreement”. The Democrats had no plan and our President has no plan. The S&P says, We take no position on the mix of spending and revenue measures that Congress and Administration might conclude is appropriate for putting the U.S.'s finances on a sustainable footing”. The S&P assigns no blame.

FACT:  The House vote was 269-161. 174 Republicans & 95 Democrats “FOR”, 66 Republicans & 95 Democrats “OPPOSED”. In the Senate the vote was 74-26. 45 Democrats & 28 Republicans “FOR”, 6 Democrats & 19 Republicans “OPPOSED”. 

This was the most bi-partisan vote to increase the debt ceiling seen. It is considered as one of the most bipartisan votes on an issue of consequence in years. However, the White House, leading Democrats and liberal media blames the Tea Party for the downgrade.  Liberals and leftists only like compromise and bipartisanship when they exclusively get their way. Evenly spread vote, blame the Tea Party.

CLAIM: The Republicans (Tea Party) are unwilling to compromise. 

FACT: “Cut, Cap, and Balance” was sufficient and would have prevented the downgrade, but Republicans submitted many plans. What was the Harry Reid and liberal mantra?  It was “Dead on arrival”, no discussion, no debate, and no compromise. That is a fact. Now liberals must assign blame. No debate and no compromise was how HealthCare negotiations were conducted.  It is ironic the HealthCare fiasco is one of many “issues” that sparked formation of the TEA Party.

FACT: Republicans were four Senate Democrats short of passing the Cut, Cap and Balance Act.  Every single Democrat voted against Cut, Cap and Balance.  22 Democrats and 1 Independent had promised to support a balanced budget. Is this compromise?

FACT: Endless compromise, (mindless) got us into this mess. I thank Mr. Hultgren for standing on OUR fiscal principles.  Chrisi Vineyard holds him responsible for the downgrade. How ridiculous. Chrisi, do not forget to blame the Democrats who voted beside him. If we all stand behind Tea Party principles the US economy will come back stronger than ever.

Larry Stanford
Newark, Illinois

 

Letters to the Editor should be e-mailed to Yorkville Patch Editor Jillian Duchnowski at jillian.duchnowski@patch.com. They should be no more than 500 words, and please include your full name and a telephone number so Duchnowski can confirm the sender's identity.

Pickled Egg August 29, 2011 at 03:29 PM
Larry Stanford. Your op-ed is incendiary, to say the least. QUESTION: How is your letter factual? Simply placing the word "FACT:" in front of your statements does not make them "fact".
Raw Egg August 29, 2011 at 05:21 PM
Hate to say this PE but those are FACTS. You just don't like the facts. And talk about incendiary....your other post using a disguised vulgarity about Sarah Palin is a little tired and off-color...
Todd Milliron August 29, 2011 at 06:16 PM
I like my eggs "Sunny Side UP", but was told if you want to make a good omelet you will have to break a few eggs. Kendall County Government is in need of new “citizen-friendly” cooks that will openly share their recipe for a good and efficient local government. Please note Kendall County Office by Office, County Dept. by Dept. budget hearings are being held Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday this week. Your ingredients for next year's omelet are now being proposed and it is very possible we will see another "deficit" spending recipe. Budget Hearings 9:00 AM-3:00 PM (County Board Room) Budget Hearings August 29, 2011 COUNTY BUILDING Review of Budgets 9:00 AM Angela Zubko PBZ 9:20 AM Jill Ferko Treasurer 9:40 AM Jessie Hafenrichter Board of Review 10:20 AM Ken Toftoy Coroner 1:20 PM Fran Klaas Highway 1:40 PM Crystal Monsess KC Soil & Water 2:00 PM Jeff Wilkins Administration, Animal Control, County Board 2:40 PM Ed Dixon VAC August 30, 2011 Review of Budgets (CB Room, 9 am) 9:00 AM Gloria Matthewson 708 Board 9:20 AM Chief Deputy Koster & Sheriff Randall Sheriff’s Office 9:40 AM Jim Smiley Facilities Management 10:00 AM Stan Laken Technology 10:20 AM Becky Morganegg Circuit Clerk 11:00 AM Vicki Chuffo Public Defender 11:20 AM Paul Nordstrom ROE 12:00 PM Debbie Gillette Clerk / Recorder’s Office 2:00 PM Eric Weis State’s Attorney Office 2:20 PM Judge McCann / Nikki Kollins Judicial 2:40 PM Tina Varney Probation Adjournment
Krista Branch August 29, 2011 at 07:06 PM
Pay no attention to the people in the street Crying out for accountability Make a joke of what we believe Say we don’t matter ’cause you disagree Pretend you’re kings, sit on your throne Look down your nose at the peasants below I’ve got some news, we’re taking names We’re waiting now for the judgment day I am America, one voice, united we stand I am America, one hope to heal our land There is still work that must be done I will not rest until we’ve won I am America You preach your tolerance, but lecture me Is there no end to your own hypocrisy Your god is power, you have no shame Your only interest is political gain You hide your eyes and refuse to listen You play your games and abuse the system You stuff your pockets while Rome is burning I’ve got a feeling that the tide is turning I am America
Pickled Egg August 29, 2011 at 11:32 PM
Raw Egg, I'm amused that you are telling me what I don't like? How in the bloody hell would you know what I do, or don't, like??? Did the republicans get 98% of what they wanted or not? Clearly, the few "FACTS" that were stated are cherry-picked, with a few embellishments, to make a point. That isn't a fact, at all. It's an argument. And as with any argument, there are those who disagree.
What a Deal! August 30, 2011 at 12:01 AM
The facts are from S&P's report. The statistics from the vote are published everywhere. Each of these facts is backed up. Only Ms. Vineyard's claims are opinion from a radical left website. What fact do you dispute and why? Put some teeth in your own arguments.
Pickled Egg August 30, 2011 at 12:25 AM
Oh, hi! Are you Larry Raw Deal? Are all 3 of you, one in the same?
What a Deal! August 30, 2011 at 01:45 AM
@ Pickled Egg..........I am What a Deal! I have no clue who the others are, but nice try. Use or try another tact.
JG August 30, 2011 at 11:51 AM
I don't remember any compromise regarding the health care bill. In fact, for the prior 2 years with the democrat super majority I don't even remember much discussion. How is it the democrats couldn't come up with a budget or solution to the debt ceiling when they had the "keys to the kingdom"? It almost seemed like they needed a few more republicans around just to have someone to blame....
Progressive Pete August 30, 2011 at 03:24 PM
Saw this quote and thought it fitting: "The latest Obama Blame Finger pointing focuses on the “Tea Party” as “extremists” who have a problem with astronomical deficits as far as the eye can see. (Pointing at Bush is getting a little old since he’s been out of office for 2-1/2 years). Obama needs a new scapegoat. The problem with the Tea Party is that it is like the child in the fairy tale, “The Emperors New Clothes.” The child is reviled for pointing out that the emperor is naked. Thus, the Tea Party is not wrong, just unwelcome."
Larry Raw Deal August 30, 2011 at 07:37 PM
Hi Pickled Egg or can I call you Rotten Egg? I'm the Real Deal. I just haven't had anything to say until now when you question my identity...
Lars August 31, 2011 at 12:57 AM
As the author to the article I am responding to "Pickled Egg". It appears there is a lot of "identity theft" in these columns. I have no idea who many of these people are but it sounds like some (maybe yourself) have multiple personalities. I think Pickled Egg is also Larry Raw Deal and playing getcha games. In any case, I am the author, I will use my real name and will respond to your initial response, but no others because they are not worth the time. My facts are backed up. All you need to do is some research. Google S&P, google the vote, etc. I would have placed footnotes for you but am limited to 500 words for space and brevity. In your particular case it may be attention span. I apologize if that is to incendiary but it appears unfortunate that you prefer to take the low road and attempt, like most liberals, to demonize and villify. When one runs out of a logical and intelligent debate they resort to exactly what you are doing. Since this is a debate column, I will debate if you keep it civl and quit playing imposter with multiple personalities to inflame the debate. If you continue to attempt intimidate and/or embarrass I will not respond, and ask everyone to ignore you. Most people reading these posts certainly understand the methods being employed here. My name is published. Why not publish your real name and participate in intelligent discussion?
Pickled Egg September 01, 2011 at 05:37 PM
Sir, if this is your example of "intelligent discussion", I'll pass. I will answer only ONE of your multiple insults & accusations. I am registered as "Pickled Egg", ONLY. I have absolutely NO idea who the other people are. It's a bit presumptuous to assume I'd create accounts to attack my own post, isn't it?
Ima Real September 01, 2011 at 06:53 PM
Hey Tickled Egg, Ima Real here and I don't think it is presumptuous at all. Several posters here suffer from Schizophrenia disorder.
Ima Real September 01, 2011 at 08:34 PM
Hey Prickled Egg, here is the definition of many posters including you Schizophrenia is a complex mental disorder that makes it difficult to: * Tell the difference between real and unreal experiences * Think logically * Have normal emotional responses, * Behave normally in social situations
Jillian Duchnowski September 02, 2011 at 12:11 AM
I just wanted to remind everyone that you must use a valid e-mail address when you create your Patch accounts. I will suspend accounts if I become aware the associated e-mail addresses are fake.
Pickled Egg September 02, 2011 at 12:25 AM
Thank you, Jillian. I received your email, this afternoon. As you can see, my account is registered and valid, despite the suggestions of others. I hope the errant accounts are discovered and removed. I appreciate your hard work and diligence.
Lorentz September 02, 2011 at 01:43 AM
Thanks Larry. I appreciate your use of facts!
Lars September 02, 2011 at 05:19 AM
Thank you, Jillian, from me too. Thanks to your hard work we can keep the debate and opinion lively yet civil. This country is going thru rough times and we have enough distraction. These dubious posts only inflame many of the posters, which, I'm sure, is the intention, rather than debate. Thanks again. Thank you for verifying my account as well.
Patti Miller September 11, 2011 at 12:06 AM
Oh Larry, Larry, Larry. So trying to get by me by starting another debate. Rather than repeat everything I've held your feet to the fire on in the other post, I encourage readers to follow the dialogue under the opinion "Letter to the Editor: Tea Party's Attitude in Washington Caused the S&P Downgrade". Larry's attempt to create a second debate on the same issue uncontested is being called out. Keep the debate running under the original posting for all to see both sides.
Patti Miller September 11, 2011 at 12:09 AM
Oh and Larry, how does "verifying" an email address ensure it is not the same person posting under multiple identies?? I could create 50 different email address in Yahoo with 50 different "names" and all could be "verified". Funny that what I called you out on potentially doing in the other post (being the same poster under multiple identies), is what you are challenged on here to. Hmm, coincidence?? Probably not!!
Patti Miller September 11, 2011 at 02:01 AM
FACT: Forcing spending cuts while making it nearly impossible to implement tax increases/reform (required 2/3 agreement in BOTH the House & Senate), is a set-up for failure. Business that ONLY focus on cost-cutting and not on how to increase their revenues generally find themselves in the same ending situation, bankruptcy. (I'd be more than happy to explain why that is Larry when you finally agree to meet with me). FACT: Exemption of making cuts from Medicare, Medicaid & Social Security are only guaranteed for 2012. There are no such exemptions for these services beyond 2012 and by passing H.R. 2560 would give Republicans the opportunity to introduce those cuts post-2012. FACT: Cutting governmental spending so drastically in such a short period of time will further cripple the U.S. economy at a time when Republicans "claim" their most important agenda is jobs and the strength of the U.S. economy. How do Americans benefit from sending $3 B/year to Israel for a religious war. Maybe because Jewish-Americans tend to be very rich & tie funding to Israel to contributions. FACT: An admendment to the Constitution is not required to institute fiscal responsibility. Responsible congressmen & women without ulterior motives will lead to fiscal responsbility. FACT: The REAL problem in DC is Lobbies & Special Interests who needlessly waste billions of $$ to influence Congress to vote for THEIR interests, not the interests of the American people. Can someone
Lars September 12, 2011 at 05:38 PM
Patti, I will have more later, but just wanted to request you don't bring the coffee thing up till i respond. I'm saving that one for last!
Patti Miller September 12, 2011 at 07:07 PM
No problem Larry, I'll give you all the time in the world you need to gather reinforcements from you T-Party consortium to develop a response for you.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something